Words From Steve Murray

The Bucket List is a Young Mans Game

In the past I showed my kids to set their goals in Sept, Jan. and June based on the school year. In keeping with that, this past Sept I took out my “Bucket List” for an update. I ended up crossing off half the items on that list.
Not because they were accomplished or attained.
Because I no longer could physically achieve them for 2 reasons.

1. The injuries that occurred along my journey and the ailments that go along with my age will not allow me to participate in certain experiences. (The 90m ski jump)

2. I am not ashamed to say that at this point in my life a certain feeling has overcome me. I think of it as wisdom, experience, self preservation and risk aversion and maybe knowing my limitations through maturity. You might call it “Fear”.
(I have no desire to travel 150mph in any vehicle without wings anymore.)
Minimizing any future injuries and the lifelong ailments that go with it is what it really is. I don’t want to lose any more mobility.

As I looked at the rest of the items on my “Bucket List” I had a big AH HA moment.
The items on that list were about “Me” and that’s not what my life or life in general is about.
So I started a new list and I called it my “Legacy List” and right now it only has 4 items on it and there not about me. How I can help, touch and bring value to other peoples lives is part of what my “Legacy” will be, not whether I jump out of a plane or “not”. The items on this list go straight to my heart and bring tears. The first item is to help, support and be there in any way possible for my ailing parents and sometimes just “listening” is the best medicine. The other 3 items are too emotional and personal for me to explain, but isn’t that the way our goals should be, “emotional”?

Why a “Legacy List”? Lets look at this in another way.

The average American lives to about 78 years old. That’s 28470 days. Not enough if you think about it, especially if a lot of those days were not yours to do with what you want. If we break that up into thirds at about 25 years each third that puts me in my last third. I don’t want to tell you all the thoughts that go along with knowing that. It means there are not enough days left to accomplish all that I want to towards my “Legacy”. So the “Bucket List” is a good thing but my advice is get it done by the 2nd third and think about your “Legacy” along the way. I have 3 questions for you.

1. Is your Bucket List only about “You”
2. What third of your life are you in?
3. What is your “Legacy”

I know for a fact that the material items that were on my bucket list my kids wouldn’t want anyway after I was gone. What does that tell me?

Leave a Reply

